NMC Registration

The Nursing and midwifery council is known by the initials NMC. The NMC is the organization responsible for designating qualified experts in the fields of midwifery and nursing and setting criteria for their conduct. For nurses and midwives in the UK, NMC is the primary regulatory body. NMC makes sure that qualified, safety experts are available to the public.

In order to practice as a nurse in the UK, you must be registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC). When it comes to checking and vetting the paperwork submitted by each candidate for the registration process, the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) upholds high standards. The NMC UK’s main duty is to raise the caliber of nursing and midwifery care provided in the UK by ensuring that the skills and credentials of people engaged in the profession meet established criteria.

NMC Process

  • Step 1 – Account Creation
  • Step 2 – NMC First stage
  • Step 3 – CBT
  • Step 4 – NMC Second stage
  • Step 5 – OSCE
  • Step 6 – Final verification and PIN

NMC First stage

Login into the NMC portal with your email address and you will be asked to set up a new password.
The documents needed for NMC’s first stage will be:

Passport – Your passport should be valid at the time you submit your upload.

Educational Qualifications – You will need to upload a copy of the original qualification certificate you were given when you completed your course.

Registration Certificate – You will need to upload your valid registration certificate.

After uploading all the documents, you will need to pay 140 GBP and NMC will be sending an email confirming the receipt of your payment. The NMC will be sending an email to your regulator for verification of your registration and the council needs to respond to the NMC email. After the council has verified your registration, NMC will be sending an email and it will be shown in the NMC account as well. Thereafter, the candidate will receive another email from PEARSON VUE on how to book the CBT exam.

Computer Based Test (CBT)

The NMC test of competence, which evaluates knowledge and skills, will verify any one of the four specialties the applicants chose. These fields are Adult Nursing, Children’s nursing, Learning disabilities nursing, and Mental health nursing. Only the specific CBT for the field for which they are applying for UK NMC registration will be attempted by the candidate.
The NMC test for nursing registration will consist of two parts.

Part 1 – Numeracy Test- consisting of 15 multiple choice questions -30 mints

Part 2 – Clinical Test -100 Multiple choice questions – 150 mints

Candidates can attempt this exam three times for a single application. If unsuccessful in the first attempt, the candidate must wait 10 working days to attempt the exam again. If the candidate is unsuccessful again on the second attempt, they have to wait for 10 more working days to attempt the exam again and that’s the maximum number of tries offered to the candidates to crack the CBT exam.

NMC Second Stage

The application form will ask about the candidate’s health, character, scope of practice, English scores, declaration, and fee. In health verification, you will be asked to provide contact details for a registered medical practitioner to give a supporting declaration about your health. In character, you will need to provide a police clearance from each country you have lived in for 12 months or more in the last ten years, and in the English language section, you will need to provide IELTS/OET certificates to demonstrate how you meet the English language requirements

Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)

Once the applicant has arrived in the UK, assistance will be provided in finding a placement at a hospital where they can receive the necessary training prior to taking the OSCE exam. OSCE is a practical examination that tests nursing knowledge in a simulated clinical environment. The OSCE test based on current UK pre-registration standards assesses the candidate’s nursing or midwifery skills. Candidates can attempt this exam three times for a single application.

Fees for different stages of the application process are

NMC First Stage – £140

Computer-Based Test – £83

NMC Second Stage – £153